The Board had responsibility for CRC policy, for approval of the budget and of the research, education, technology transfer, communication and commercialisation plans. It was also responsible for monitoring the performance of the CRC. The Board members include a representative of each of the core parties, four independent members drawn from different sectors of the wool industry and the CRC Director. The Chair,  Mr Michael Davidson, was one of the independent industry members.

Mr Michael Davidson (Chairman)
Wool producer
Director PIBA and Elders Australia
Professor Mark Wainwright
Pro Vice Chancellor of Research
University of New South Wales
Professor Michael Barber
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
The University of Western Australia
Dr Robert Kelly
Wool Industry Program,
Agriculture Western Australia
Mr Graeme Bennett
Norwellan Textiles Pty Ltd
Professor Ross Milbourne
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
The University of Adelaide
Mr Alan Bowman
Wool producer,
Chair NFF Industrial Committee
Dr Oliver Mayo
CSIRO Division of Animal Production
Dr Neil Evans
The Woolmark Company
Technology Adoption Team
Mr John Michell
Managing Director
G.H. Michell and Sons (Australia) Pty Ltd
Professor Keith Entwistle
Faculty of the Sciences,
The University of New England
Dr Lionel Ward
CRC for Premium Quality Wool